Banana custard is delicious recipe

After a long time of eating the same old same old I finally branched out again, into the easiest new recipe I could find: Banana custard. It requires only 7 ingredients and takes only 14 minutes to prep and make.

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups almond milk (or milk of choice)
  • 4 tbsp corn starch
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 large, ripe, mashed bananas
  • 4 tsp vanilla extract
  • As much cinnamon as you desire

Method:

  1. Sift corn starch, sugar and salt into a medium-large pot.
  2. Add milk and mashed banana into mixture. Whisk the mixture until there are limited to no banana chunks left.
  3. Cook mixture on a medium heat, stirring regularly. Continue this until the trail does not close in upon itself – this usually takes approximately 10 minutes. I kept cooking for another 2 minutes after this occurred for extra thickness.
  4. Remove mixture from heat and mix in vanilla essence and cinnamon.

At this point the mixture tastes good. Let it sit for 5 minutes and really absorb the vanilla and cinnamon then try it. So much more deliciousness.

As usual, carnivorous friends did the taste test. Thus far this has been graded as one of my better concoctions and worthy of being made again. And they have told me when to let a recipe go.

This quest for a new recipe began when a close friend became unwell and as a result required a much healthier, stricter diet. When I heard he couldn’t even eat cake (the horror!) I knew I had to find healthy vegan recipes to bring back the joy to his diet. This meant not only finding vegan, but finding little to no sugar, fat, carbohydrates or dangerous additions added in the form of numbers and misleading terms such as “made from natural ingredients”. It’s not the easiest task.  It may come down to creating completely new recipes.

If anyone knows of genuinely healthy recipes and would like to hear me giving them a whirl and how it went down the carni’s send me a link in the comment section. My friend and his very supportive and cake deprived girlfriend will be very delighted and grateful 🙂

Have a happy summer ya’ll!

Summer Tay.

P.S. My peace candle melted in the heat, during G20. Meanwhile Russia has its navy on the Australian (my countries) borders. That candle has been around longer than I have and it chooses now to melt?

Leave a Reply

